W.A DoT Update

The Department of Transport has shared updates affecting how you operate in the passenger transport industry.

To ensure you are up to date with all information from DoT, Ola suggests you subscribe through their website HERE

The key updates that you should be aware of are as follows:

Vehicle Stickers

Ola stickers are mandatory as of the 1st July 2019. Stickers must be displayed in the rear window of your registered vehicle.

To obtain an Ola sticker, please add your details to this form to register to have one sent to you.

Ola stickers must be used when your driver app is switched ON, you’re online and accepting rides. You can remove the sticker when you are not driving.

The stickers are reusable. Have the sticker displayed at all times when driving to make your Ola driving experience, an easy one.

Watch how to apply your Ola sticker HERE

** Note drivers will need to display a sticker in the front window to access Optus Stadium pick up as this is a requirement from Mainroads.

Charter Vehicle Licence (CVL)

Drivers with a CVL licence will be transitioned to a Passenger Transport Vehicle (PTV) authorisation on 2 July 2019. You will not need to do anything as this will happen automatically and will appear in your DoTDirect account. If you do not have an account, ensure you sign up for one immediately.

For more information, please review HERE

Camera Surveillance Unit Standards (CSU)

Passenger Transport Vehicles (PTVs) authorised in the On-demand Charter (charter vehicles) are not required to have CSUs, however operators may choose to install a CSU. If they do, then new rules apply including:

  • Recordings cannot be misused.
  • Recordings must be provided to WA Police, DoT and other agencies, when requested.
  • The vehicle must have a sign/sticker in it advising the passengers that they are being recorded (reference the above Standards for more info on this).

The forthcoming regulations will detail the CSU requirements in greater detail – these will be gazetted at the end of June and apply from 2 July.

Related Articles